City Map | Google Map | Ward Boundary Map | Other Maps
Skip to Main Content

Prayagraj Nagar Nigam

Government of Uttar Pradesh

A- A A+
eNewsletter Services
eNewsletter Services |


Atal Mission for Rejuvenation and Urban Transformation
Ministry of Urban Development, Government of India

Purpose of AMRUT

the purpose of Atal Mission for Rejuvenation and Urban Transformation (AMRUT) is to

  1. Ensure that every household has access to a tap with assured supply of water and a sewerage connection;
  2. Increase the amenity value of cities by developing greenery and well maintained open spaces (e.g. parks);
  3. Reduce pollution by switching to public transport or constructing facilities for non-motorized transport (e.g. walking and cycling).

All these outcomes are valued by citizens, particularly women, and indicators and standards have been prescribed by the Ministry of Urban Development (MoUD) in the form of Service Level Benchmarks (SLBs).

Earlier, the MoUD used to give project-by-project sanctions. In the AMRUT this has been replaced by approval of the State Annual Action Plan once a year by the MoUD and the States have to give project sanctions and approval at their end. In this way, the AMRUT makes States equal partners in planning and implementation of projects, thus actualizing the spirit of cooperative federalism. A sound institutional structure is the foundation to make Missions successful. Therefore, Capacity Building and a set of Reforms have been included in the Mission. Reforms will lead to improvement in service delivery, mobilization of resources and making municipal functioning more transparent and functionaries more accountable, while Capacity Building will empower municipal functionaries and lead to timely completion of projects.


The components of the AMRUT consist of capacity building, reform implementation, water supply, sewerage and septage management, storm water drainage, urban transport and development of green spaces and parks. During the process of planning, the Urban Local Bodies (ULBs) will strive to include some smart features in the physical infrastructure components. The details of the Mission components are given below.

Water Supply
  1. Water supply systems including augmentation of existing water supply, water treatment plants and universal metering.
  2. Water supply systems including augmentation of existing water supply, water treatment plants and universal metering.
  3. Rehabilitation of old water supply systems, including treatment plants.
  4. Rejuvenation of water bodies specifically for drinking water supply and recharging of ground water.
  5. Special water supply arrangement for difficult areas, hill and coastal cities, including those having water quality problems (e.g. arsenic, fluoride)
  1. Decentralised, networked underground sewerage systems, including augmentation of existing sewerage systems and sewage treatment plants.
  2. Rehabilitation of old sewerage system and treatment plants.
  3. Recycling of water for beneficial purposes and reuse of wastewater.
  1. Faecal Sludge Management- cleaning, transportation and treatment in a cost-effective manner.
  2. Mechanical and Biological cleaning of sewers and septic tanks and recovery of operational cost in full.
Storm Water Drainage
  1. Construction and improvement of drains and storm water drains in order to reduce and eliminate flooding.
Urban Transport
  1. Ferry vessels for inland waterways (excluding port/bay infrastructure) and buses.
  2. Footpaths/ walkways, sidewalks, foot over-bridges and facilities for non-motorised transport (e.g. bicycles).
  3. Multi-level parking.
  4. Bus Rapid Transit System (BRTS).
Green space and parks
  1. Development of green space and parks with special provision for child-friendly components.
Reforms management & support
  1. Support structures, activities and funding support for reform implementation.
  2. Independent Reform monitoring agencies.
Capacity Building
  1. This has two components- individual and institutional capacity building.
  2. The capacity building will not be limited to the Mission Cities, but will be extended to other ULBs as well.
  3. Continuation of the Comprehensive Capacity Building Programme (CCBP) after its realignment towards the new Missions.
Indicative (not exhaustive) list of inadmissible components
  1. Purchase of land for projects or project related works,
  2. Staff salaries of both the States/ULBs,
  3. Power,
  4. Telecom,
  5. Health,
  6. Education, and
  7. Wage employment programme and staff component.
  • Cities covered by AMRUT in Uttar Pradesh
  • 1 Agra
  • 2 Akbarpur
  • 3 Aligarh
  • 4 Prayagraj(Allahabad)
  • 5 Amroha
  • 6 Ayodhya
  • 7 Azamgarh
  • 8 Bahraich
  • 9 Ballia
  • 10 Banda
  • 11 Baraut
  • 12 Bareilly
  • 13 Basti
  • 14 Budaun
  • 15 Bulandshahar
  • 16 Chandausi
  • 17 Deoria
  • 18 Etah
  • 19 Etawah
  • 20 Faizabad
  • 21 Farrukhabad-cum-Fatehgarh
  • 22 Fatehpur
  • 23 Firozabad
  • 24 Ghaziabad
  • 25 Ghazipur
  • 26 Gonda
  • 27 Gorakhpur
  • 28 Hapur
  • 29 Hardoi
  • 30 Hathras
  • 31 Jaunpur
  • 32 Jhansi
  • 33 Kanpur
  • 34 Kasganj
  • 35 Khurja
  • 36 Lakhimpur
  • 37 Lalitpur
  • 38 Loni
  • 39 Lucknow
  • 40 Mainpuri
  • 41 Mathura
  • 42 Maunath Bhanjan
  • 43 Meerut
  • 44 Mirzapur-cum-Vindhyachal
  • 45 Modinagar
  • 46 Moradabad
  • 47 Mughalsarai
  • 48 Muzaffarnagar
  • 49 Orai
  • 50 Pilibhit
  • 51 Rae Bareli
  • 52 Rampur
  • 53 Saharanpur
  • 54 Sambhal
  • 55 Shahjahanpur
  • 56 Shamli
  • 57 Shikohabad
  • 58 Sitapur
  • 59 Sultanpur
  • 60 Unnao
  • 61 Varanasi

Content Source & Read More: Official Amrut WebSite